Building

Over the last year this blog has slipped into somnolence, pushed aside by family (two grandchildren, a daughter’s wedding), other sorts of writing (a new novel in first draft), politics and conservation (two big tree plants and much lobbying), outspoken (Bill Gammage in July) and now … building.

In an attempt to rationalise this house we’re adding an extension and replacing the deck. If I’m not too tired at night I will try to make this build, its design, its philosophical and physical implications, the subject of the blog. As well as the occasional photo.

Before we begin

Before we begin

coming apart

coming apart

 

 

 

 

 

 

The author at work

The author at work

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

rammed earth

rammed earth

rain on the new deck

rain on the new deck

Explore posts in the same categories: Film reviews, Landscape

One Comment on “Building”


  1. Hi Stephen, This is the first time in a long time that I have actually clicked on a blog update alert which has arrived in my inbox. Perhaps it’s because there were photos that sparked my curiosity or perhaps it’s because you wrote it and this took me back to memories of growing up in the hinterland (which seem far away on this icy Melbourne night) or perhaps it’s because I read the word “build” and I have been hooked on this word ever since I fell in love with “Grand Designs”. I look forward to hearing about your project! Best wishes, Natalya


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

